Nebraska Department of Transportation

NDOT Reveals Winners of Second “Name a Snowplow” Contest

Nebraska Department of Transportation

Jan. 23, 2023 (Lincoln, Neb.) — The Nebraska Department of Transportation (NDOT) is excited to

announce winners of its second “Name a Snowplow” contest! With almost 700 submissions by

elementary school students from throughout the state, the list was narrowed down to 16 winners, two

from each of NDOT’s eight highway districts.


According to Shannon Ankeny, NDOT Director of Communications and Public Policy, the creativity of

students’ submissions was impressive once again, making it difficult to narrow down the list. Some of

the winning names included Super Scooper, Plowabunga, Snow Big Deal, and Snowbi-Wan Kenobi.


“We received entries from all corners of the state, including Crawford, Sidney, Falls City, and Pender,”

Ankeny said. “Not only is it a chance for students to get involved, but it is also a great way to recognize

our hardworking snowplow drivers and maintenance workers who are often the unsung heroes in

keeping our roads safe during and after winter weather.”


The selected plows will be branded with their new monikers and will be updated on NDOT’s and on where the name and location of each plow will be

available in real time. While NDOT has over 600 snowplows, these 16 winners will be added to the 17

winners from the inaugural “Name a Snowplow” contest and will be the only ones identified by name for


Here are the schools with winning snowplow names and the districts to which they will be assigned:

Deep Trouble D1 Dorchester Public Schools - Dorchester

Snow Pirate D1 Dorchester Public Schools - Dorchester

Snowbi-Wan Kenobi D2 Meadows Elementary – Omaha

Velociplower D2 Meadows Elementary – Omaha

Snow Big Deal D3 Westside Elementary – Norfolk

Snow School Today D3 Pender Public Schools - Pender

Deep Freeze D4 Pleasanton Elementary - Pleasanton

Snow Crusher D4 Pleasanton Elementary - Pleasanton

No Snow Let’s go D5 Crawford Elementary - Crawford

Snow Blazer D5 Central Elementary – Sidney

Super Scooper D6 Hershey Public Schools - Hershey

Power Pusher D6 Hershey Public Schools - Hershey

Plow Wow KaPow! D7 Perkins County Schools – Grant

Oh No Snow! D7 Perkins County Schools – Grant

Plowabunga D8 Burwell Public Schools – Burwell

Snowswisher D8 Keya Paha County Schools – Springview