'Mayor For a Day' Essay Contest Winners Announced

Mayor for a day judging committee Mayor for a day judging committee

Grand Island, Neb. — A total of 88 sixth grade students in Grand Island used community pride and forward thinking to write a 400-word essay on what they would like to see improve in the city by the time they graduate, and 12 of them are coming away with cash prizes.

Students wrote about why they loved living in Grand Island, but also detailed what changes they’d like to see by 2030. They were judged on grammar, community pride, community vision and action plan. The judge panel consisted of Grand Island Chamber of Commerce President Jamie Karl, Grand Island Communications Manager Spencer Schubert, Syngenta Seeds Administrative Assistant Kris Naberhaus and NCN/Telemundo Nebraska Anchor/Reporter Ana Ruth Lugo Mejia.

The winning authors are:
  1.  Saybel Raez Almaguer, Grand Island Public Schools
  2.  Jacob Theisen, Trinity Lutheran
  3.  Abigail Meyer, Trinity Lutheran
  4.  Kollin DeLaet, Northwest Public Schools
  5.  Tenleigh Sawyer, Grand Island Public Schools
  6.  Madhurisha Yuvaraju, Grand Island Public Schools
  7.  Simon Gustafson, Trinity Lutheran
  8.  Eleanor Koch, Northwest Public Schools

Honorable Mention
Brianna Reyes, Grand Island Central Catholic
Harper Bennett, Trinity Lutheran
Karim Magallan, Grand Island Public Schools
Jillian Verba, Northwest Public Schools

The students composed the essays in sixth grade classrooms from April 15 – May 7. They will now be formally recognized in the City Council Chambers on Monday, May 20 with a 10 a.m. press conference.

The Grand Island Chamber of Commerce Foundation will award $560 in prizes for the winning essays. All winners will also receive a certificate and pin from the City of Grand Island, and Saybel Raez Almaguer will earn the honor of being named ‘Mayor For a Day’ by Mayor Roger Steele. The press conference will be streamed on GITV and posted afterward on various City of Grand Island social media pages.

Students from Grand Island Public Schools, Northwest Public Schools, Grand Island Catholic Schools and Trinity Lutheran School participated in the contest.